the boy who harnessed the wind

this story is written by William Kam kwamba and illustrated by Elizabeth zunon this story is about a little boy named William and is a citizen in a small village in Malawi. his dad owned a farm, it had everything they needed and was going well, until. there were less rain and the crops they had died so they didn’t have money anymore for William to go to school. he started to observe the trucks so he wanted to know how it worked so he went to a library that the American charity had donated to the village so he started looking at some of the science books he found out that the engine of a car was very similar to a windmill so he went to his local junkyard and started to search through what he could find to build a windmill from the knowledge of the book. he built the structure first using wood to support the hight then built the router which spun villagers gathered around and the villagers started teasing and lighting but that didn’t stop William he still kept going and finally, it was done. William plugged a light bulb in, first, it just flickered then it started shiny like the sun and finally it shined his entire village. I had a connection with this story when I was 10 years old, I lost my ballon and was sad so I started getting used to losing my ballon even when my mom offered me every time to get another one for me but I refused like William when just ignored the fact that he couldn’t go to school. my second connection is when my friend made fun of me of my shape  but I just kept going and ignored them liken when william was teased at for his windmill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *